ASPAN Announces its 2013-2014 Board of Directors
Login  |  My ASPAN |  View Cart |  Search

American Society of PeriAnesthesia Nurses (ASPAN)
Announces its 2013-2014 Board of Directors:

Twilla Shrout Installed as President,
Jacque Crosson as Vice President/President-Elect

CHERRY HILL, NEW JERSEY, August 26, 2013—The American Society of Perianesthesia Nurses (ASPAN) is pleased to introduce its 2013-2014 Board of Directors, including President Twilla Shrout, BSN, MBA, RN, CPAN, CAPA, and Vice President/President-Elect, Jacque Crosson, MSN, RN, CPAN.

Prior to the presidency, Ms. Shrout served ASPAN in a number of capacities, including as Vice President/President-Elect, Region 2 Director (Central United States), on various committees and Specialty Practice Groups, and as President of Missouri-Kansas PeriAnesthesia Nurses Association (MO-KAN PANA), one of ASPAN’s 40 state components.

Twilla is also a Staff Nurse at Harry S. Truman Memorial Veterans’ Hospital (Columbia, MO) where she currently works as a staff nurse in the Same Day Surgery Unit.  Her previous employment, at Boone Hospital Center (Columbia), included roles in the PACU, outpatient surgery and pre-operative area.  The theme she selected for ASPAN’s 2013-14 term is:  “Dealing With Challenges:  Winning with Power, Practice, Purpose,” which will culminate at its 33rd National Conference in Las Vegas, NV, April 27-May 1, 2014. 
Ms. Shrout holds a bachelor’s degree in nursing from University of Central Missouri (Warrensburg) as well as an MBA from William Woods University (Fulton, MO).  She and her family reside in Bunceton, MO.

Vice President, Jacque Crosson, will also serve a one-year term, after which she will assume the office of President, as the Society’s bylaws stipulate.  She looks forward to working with the Board to ensure that ASPAN continues to advance its mission and vision.  Ms. Crosson is a Clinical Manager Preop/PACU nurse at John C. Lincoln Hospital (Phoenix, AZ) and holds a Master’s in Nursing degree from the University of Phoenix as well as a B.S. in Health Arts from the University of St. Francis (Joliet, IL).

Other ASPAN Board members include:

Joni Brady, MSN, RN, CAPA

Katrina Bickerstaff, BSN, RN, CPAN, CAPA

Immediate Past President:
Susan Carter, BSN, RN, CPAN, CAPA

Regional Director – Region 1:
Deborah Bickford, BSN, RN, CPAN

Regional Director – Region 2:
Armi Holcomb, BSN, RN, CPAN

Regional Director – Region 3:
Tracy Underwood, BSN, RN, CPAN

Regional Director – Region 4:
Laura Kling, MSN, RN, CNS, CPAN, CAPA

Regional Director – Region 5:
Sarah Cartwright, BA, RN, CAPA

Director for Clinical Practice:
Susan Russell, BSN, RN, JD, CPAN, CAPA

Director for Education:
Nancy Strzyzewski, MSN, RN, CPAN, CAPA

Director for Research:
Kim Noble, PhD, RN, CPAN

ASPAN Chief Executive Officer:
Kevin Dill

ABPANC President:
Deirdre Cronin, BSN, RN, CPAN, CAPA

ASPAN represents the interests of over 55,000 nurses who practice in preanesthesia and postanesthesia care, outpatient surgery, and pain management settings.  Its mission includes providing members with the latest in perianesthesia education, research, standards, networking, and advocacy.  ASPAN is available online at

Click here for a .pdf of this release.

R. Douglas Hanisch
Marketing and Communications Manager
American Society of PeriAnesthesia Nurses ∙ 877.737.9696, x. 215
90 Frontage Road, Cherry Hill, NJ  0803

Return to News Room Archive

Copyright 2018 by ASPAN   Legal Notices   Privacy Statement