Login  |  My ASPAN |  View Cart |  Search
 
Specialty Practice Groups

The purpose of ASPAN’s Specialty Practice Groups (SPG) is to bring together sub-specialty nurses who share a special practice in perianesthesia nursing. SPGs are member-driven and offer a variety of networking and educational opportunities, and may serve voluntarily as resources to achieving ASPAN's strategic plan related to practice and professional issues. Members come from diverse practice areas and share a common desire and commitment to provide high clinical standards, quality care and patient safety.

Any active ASPAN member may join one or all of our SPGs. All that is needed is an interest in practice and professional issues related to a particular specialty area. SPG membership benefits include two SPG newsletters per year, access to a password-protected Web page and the opportunity to meet at the ASPAN National Conference.

For information on a particular SPG, contact the Coordinator or Vice-Coordinator listed below. You may join a SPG anytime during the year; however, dues are not prorated and the SPG membership expiration date is tied to your ASPAN membership expiration date.

To join one or more SPGs, please print out the SPG Membership Application and fax to 856-616-9601, or mail with payment to the National Office. You may also join additional SPGs online once you login to the Web site.

 Advanced Degree SPG    Pediatric SPG
 Geriatric SPG    Perianesthesia Nurse Educator SPG
 Informatics SPG    Preoperative Assessment SPG
 Management SPG    Publications SPG
 Pain Management SPG    

Advanced Degree SPG
Click here for Advanced Degree SPG Members Only Page

Purpose: To support and foster perianesthesia Advanced Practice Nurse (APN) role development and to promote higher education for perianesthesia nurses. Must be master’s prepared or in a master’s program to join.


Coordinator:  Marie Wiegert BSN MAN RN CPAN CAPA, mariewiegert@hotmail.com
Vice-Coordinator:  Carol Pehotsky DNP RN ACNS-BC CPAN, pehotsc@ccf.org
Board of Directors:  Regina Hoefner-Notz MS RN CPAN CPN, rhoefner-notz@aspan.org
 
Geriatric SPG
Click here for Geriatric SPG Members Only Page 
  Purpose: To improve the quality of healthcare to older adults by enhancing the perianesthesia nurses competence through attitudes, knowledge and skills; to disseminate information on geriatrics as it relates to the perianesthesia continuum of care; to serve as a resource, provide networking opportunities and facilitate research.  
    Coordinator:  Ernestine Hughes BSN RN CPAN, ernief58@att.net
Vice Coordinator: TBA
Board of Directors:  Jennifer Kilgore BSN RN CPAN, jkilgore@aspan.org
 
Informatics SPG
Click here for Informatics SPG Members Only Page
  Purpose: To promote collaboration among perianesthesia nurses involved with informatics and share resources related to perianesthesia informatics; to serve as a resource to ASPAN’s Perianesthesia Data Elements group.
    Coordinator: Helen Fong MSN RN PHN, helen.fong@live.com
Vice Coordinator:  Angelique Weathersby MSN MBA RN, angiew@panac.org
Board of Directors:  Kimberly Godfrey BSN RN CPAN, kgodfrey@aspan.org
 
Management SPG
Click here for Management SPG Members Only
  Purpose: To enhance collaboration and communication among perianesthesia managers and serve as a management resource; to utilize the group to benefit from specialty education regarding administration and management in the perianesthesia arena.
    Coordinator:  Eric Bachman BS RN CAPA, ebachman@excelsiorortho.com
Vice Coordinator:  Greg Veenendaal MS RN CCRN NEA-BC, gveenen1@fairview.org
Board of Directors:  Regina Hoefner-Notz MS RN CPAN CPN, rhoefner-notz@aspan.org
 
Pain Management SPG
Click here for Pain Management SPG Members Only Page 
  Purpose: To enhance communication and collaboration appropriate to acute and chronic pain management among perianesthesia nurses; to utilize the group to research resources available for policy recommendations; and, to disseminate information to members of the specialty practice group, the organization and other health care providers.
    Coordinator:  Gloria Spencer MSPHN RN, glomsphnedd@gmail.com
Vice Coordinator: TBA
Board of Directors:  Amy Dooley MS RN CPAN, adooley@aspan.org
 
Pediatric SPG
Click here for Pediatric SPG Members Only Page
  Purpose: To provide nurses the opportunity to increase their quality of care for children in the ambulatory surgery, preanesthesia and postanesthesia arenas.
    Coordinator:  Allan Cresencia MSN RN CPN, acresencia@chla.usc.edu
Vice Coordinator:  Rob Strain MSN RN, robstrain@gmail.com
Board of Directors:  Jennifer Kilgore BSN RN CPAN, jkilgore@aspan.org
 
Perianesthesia Nurse Educator SPG
Click here for Perianesthesia Nurse Educator SPG Members Only Page
  Purpose: To promote collaboration among perianesthesia nurse educators and share resources related to perianesthesia orientation to practice, competencies and continuing education.
    Coordinator:  Laura Habighorst BSN RN CAPA CGRN, lhabighorst@aol.com
Vice Coordinator: Marie Evans BSN RN CPAN, marie.evans@comcast.net
Board of Directors:  Amy Dooley MS RN CPAN, adooley@aspan.org
 
Preoperative Assessment SPG
Click here for Preoperative Assessment SPG Members Only Page
  Purpose: To bring together nurses working in the preoperative assessment area to share ideas, to provide educational opportunities and to serve as a resource and networking facilitator.
    Coordinator:  Robbin Craddock BSN RN CAPA, rcraddock88@gmail.com
Vice Coordinator:  Kevin MacVane BSN RN CAPA, macvak33@aol.com
Board of Directors:  Kimberly Godfrey BSN RN CPAN, kgodfrey@aspan.org
 
Publications SPG
Click here for Publications SPG Members Only Page
  Purpose: To encourage, support, and promote the writing and publishing process by perianesthesia nurses through resources, education, and networking.
    Coordinator:  Katie Piedra RN CPAN, ktpiedra@gmail.com
Vice Coordinator:  Kathy Menard PhD RN-BC CPAN CAPA, kjmenardrn@hotmail.com
Board of Directors:  Sylvia Baker MSN RN CPAN, sbaker@aspan.org

SPG Membership Application

Specialty Practice Group (SPG) Resource Manual

 

 
Copyright 2017 by ASPAN   Legal Notices   Privacy Statement