

Message from the President

ASPAN Heroes Create Lasting Legacies

March/April 2009

Lois Schick MN MBA RN CPAN CAPA ASPAN President 2008-2009

This has been a phenomenal year. While America embraced change during a dynamic election process that produced a new president and many new congressional members, ASPAN members were invested in significant projects that will create a lasting impact. I am so pleased to be a part of this exciting time in America and ASPAN!

Our organization is built on professional collaboration and volunteerism. My sincere THANKS is given to ALL participants from the Board of Directors (BOD) and National Office staff, to the committees, strategic work teams (SWT), ad hoc committees, external organization liaisons and Past Presidents' Council. Special recognition goes to individual mission leaders who, through dedication and determination, made many dreams become lasting legacies.

Our ASPAN Specialty Practice Group (SPG) leaders oversee eight dynamic networking groups. Historians Esther Watson BSN, RN, and Evelyn Medycki, RN, meticulously document the organization's historical information, thereby preserving its legacy for generations to come.

Key Initiatives

Several major accomplishments occurred this year. The **Go Green SWT**, led by Twilla Shrout, BSN, MBA, RN, CAPA, was commissioned to gather ideas, suggestions and solutions to empower ASPAN to better conserve resources. The 2009 Earth Day celebration occurs during ASPAN's 28th National Conference week, and some special Go Green-related activities are planned!

ASPAN has a **newly redesigned Web site** (www.aspan.org). Please visit the site, follow the member account registration instructions, and then check it out! The site offers exciting new content areas and member-only special features. This immense project, led by Web Site Redesign SWT Coordinator Joni Brady, MSN, RN, CAPA, and Eileen Zeiger from the National Office, involved collaboration and coordination with many others throughout the organization.

Congratulations, ASPAN, for attaining a **six-year national accreditation from the American Nurses Credentialing Center-Commission on Accreditation**. Thanks go to Education Committee members and the Director for Education Linda Ziolkowski, MSN, RN, CPAN, Education Approver Committee Chair Barbara Hannah, EdD, MS, RN, CPAN, the National Office staff and Nurse Liaison for Education, Research and Clinical Practice Linda Wilson, PhD, RN, CPAN, CAPA, BC, CNE.

A revised edition of ASPAN's *Clinical Guideline for the Prevention of Unplanned Perioperative Hypothermia*, under the leadership of Vallire Hooper, MS, RN, CPAN, FAAN, will be presented to the Representative Assembly in April 2009. This guideline provides clinicians with an evidence based approach to the prevention, care and management of the adult surgical patient with unplanned perioperative hypothermia.

My Heroes

I can't think of a better place to celebrate legacies than Washington, D.C. The National Conference SWT, led by Myrna Mamaril, MS, RN, CPAN, CAPA, FAAN, assembled an awesome Conference to be held in our nation's capital. The education program includes topics of interest spanning the perianesthesia scope

of practice. After days filled with learning and professional networking, the many social events and area attractions offer some time for fun!

I am so proud of our diverse ASPAN TEAMS. Many committees, ad hoc groups, editors, board members, past presidents and members are commended for making ASPAN the strong and purposeful specialty nursing organization it is today. (See ASPAN 2008-2009 Legacy Builders.)

Hero's dreams generated ASPAN's legacy. In my heart, each and every one of YOU is an ASPAN HERO. Thank you for the opportunity to serve as your president and making my dream for ASPAN to create lasting legacies become a reality.

ASPAN 2008-2009 Legacy Builders

- E-Component, new in 2009, SWT Coordinator: Jane Lind
- Clinical Practice Network, Director for Clinical Practice Barbara Godden
- Standards and Guidelines Committee, Chair Maureen McLaughlin
- Membership/Marketing Committee, Chair Jane Lind
- Publications Committee, many projects in review, Chair Kathy Carlson
- Council on Surgical & Perioperative Safety (CSPS), participation in CSPS strategic planning, Liaison Pamela Windle; ASPAN CEO Kevin Dill
- Journal of PeriAnesthesia Nursing, Co-editors Vallire Hooper and Jan Odom-Forren
- Financial Ad Hoc, investigating pricing of ASPAN products, Team Leader Susan Carter
- PeriAnesthesia Data Elements (PDE) Committee, release of new information at 2009 National Conference, Chair Denise O'Brien; Consultant Marisa Wilson
- Scope of Practice SWT, Co-Coordinators Myrna Mamaril and Wanda Rodriguez
- Strategic Plan Implementation Ad Hoc, ASPAN transformation and change is coming, Team Leader Terry Clifford, BOD members, Parliamentarian David Wharton and National Office personnel
- Other board members busily fulfilled respective position duties, Secretary Jacque Crosson;
 ABPANC President Phoebe Conklin (ex-officio)
- International Conference, new in 2009, Send suggestions to: sfossum@aspan.org, SWT Coordinator Susan Fossum
- Research GROVE Project, Director for Research Jackie Ross
- Evidence Based Practice (EBP) Guidelines, EBP Committee Chair Kim Noble
- Governmental Affairs Committee, Chair David Kay; assisted by Maureen McLaughlin
- Advocacy SWT, Coordinator Susan Benner
- Legislative Bill Endorsement Ad Hoc, Team Leader Maureen McLaughlin
- ASPAN Development, multiple activities held at National Conference, Director for Development Dolly Ireland
- Credentials Ad Hoc Committee, Chair Marigrace Clarke
- Safety Committee, perianesthesia arena information coming soon, Chair Dina Krenzischek
- Succession Planning/Up and Comers Program, opportunities exist to become a mentor or mentee, Co-Coordinators Meg Beturne and Pamela Windle
- Americans for Nursing Shortage Relief (ANSR), Liaison Gena Near
- Nominating, thanks for a great slate of nominees!, Chair Susan Fossum; elected members: Michelle Honeywell, Laura Kling, Janice Lopez, Candace Taylor
- Regional Directors, Nancy O'Malley, Twilla Shrout, Kim Kraft, Katrina Bickerstaff and Chris Price