Join

Specialty Practice Groups

The purpose of ASPAN’s Specialty Practice Groups (SPG) is to bring together sub-specialty nurses who share a special practice in perianesthesia nursing. SPGs are member-driven and offer a variety of networking and educational opportunities, and may serve voluntarily as resources to achieving ASPAN's strategic plan related to practice and professional issues. Members come from diverse practice areas and share a common desire and commitment to provide high clinical standards, quality care and patient safety.

Any active ASPAN member may join one or all of our SPGs. All that is needed is an interest in practice and professional issues related to a particular specialty area. SPG membership benefits include two SPG newsletters per year (or four Zoom meetings per year, or a combination of one newsletter/two Zoom meetings per year), access to a password-protected web page and the opportunity to meet at the ASPAN National Conference.

For information on a particular SPG, contact the Coordinator or Vice-Coordinator listed below. You may join a SPG anytime during the year; however, dues are not prorated and the SPG membership expiration date is tied to your ASPAN membership expiration date.

To join one or more SPGs, please print out the SPG Membership Application and fax to 856-616-9601, or mail with payment to the National Office.

You may also CLICK HERE to join SPGs online. (login required)


Advanced Degree SPG

Click here for Advanced Degree SPG Members Only Page
Purpose: To support and foster the perianesthesia Advanced Degree nurse’s role development and to promote higher education for perianesthesia nurses. Must be Master’s prepared or in a Master’s program to join.

Coordinator:  Ashlynn Penna DNP RN CPAN CAPA NPD-BC, ashlynn_penna@yahoo.com 
Vice-Coordinator:  TBD
Board of Directors:  Ronda Dyer MSN BSPA RN CPAN CAPA CNE, rdyer@aspan.org


Informatics SPG

Click here for Informatics SPG Members Only Page
Purpose: To share knowledge, challenges, and ideas to identify solutions that enhance our nursing informatics practice and promote positive perianesthesia patient outcomes through technology. 

Coordinator:  Alicia Beneteau BScN RN CPAN PCCN, abeneteau@yahoo.com
Vice Coordinator:  Kristen Cleary-Campbell MSN RN CAPA CPAN kristen.clearycampbell@yahoo.com
Board of Directors:  Marlene Nahavandi BSN RN CAPA, mnahavandi@aspan.org


Management SPG

Click here for Management SPG Members Only
Purpose: To enhance collaboration and communication among perianesthesia managers and serve as a management resource; to utilize the group to benefit from specialty education regarding administration and management in the perianesthesia arena.

Coordinator:  Angel Petznick MSN MBA RN CPAN, capbross@gmail.com
Vice Coordinator:  Lynnae Elliotte MSN RN CCRN CPAN, lellio19@jhmi.edu
Board of Directors:  Nickcole Price MSN RN CPAN CAPA, nprice@aspan.org


Pain Management SPG

Click here for Pain Management SPG Members Only Page 
Purpose: To enhance communication and collaboration appropriate to acute and chronic pain management among perianesthesia nurses; to utilize the group to research resources available for policy recommendations; and, to disseminate information to members of the specialty practice group, the organization and other health care providers.

Coordinator:  Jodi Myers MSN ACCNS-AG CAPA PMGT-BC, lovebnmom4@sbcglobal.net
Vice Coordinator:  Katrina Bickerstaff BSN RN CPAN CAPA, katrinabickerstaff@me.com
Board of Directors:  Stephanie Johnson MSN RN CPAN CAPA, sjohnson@aspan.org


Pediatric SPG

Click here for Pediatric SPG Members Only Page
Purpose: To provide nurses the opportunity to increase their quality of care for children in the ambulatory surgery, preanesthesia and postanesthesia arenas.

Coordinator:  Natalie Friess MSN-Ed RN CPN CPAN, natalie.friess@nationwidechildrens.org
Vice Coordinator:  Alison Popa RN RSCN CPAN CAPA, alisonpopa.rn27@gmail.com 
Board of Directors:  Linda Allyn BSN RN CPAN CAPA, lallyn@aspan.org


Perianesthesia Nurse Educator SPG

Click here for Perianesthesia Nurse Educator SPG Members Only Page
Purpose: To promote collaboration among perianesthesia nurse educators and share resources related to perianesthesia orientation to practice, competencies and continuing education.

Coordinator:  Roxann Llewellyn BSN RN, llerox04@outlook.com
Vice Coordinator:  TBD
Board of Directors:  Ronda Dyer MSN BSPA RN CPAN CAPA CNE, rdyer@aspan.org


Preoperative Assessment SPG

Click here for Preoperative Assessment SPG Members Only Page
Purpose: To bring together nurses working in the preoperative assessment area to share ideas, to provide educational opportunities and to serve as a resource and networking facilitator.

Coordinator:  Dorothy Flowers BSN RN CAPA, dorothy.flowers@uvmhealth.org
Vice Coordinator:  Lynda Lepp RN CPAN CAPA, llepp@salud.unm.edu
Board of Directors:  Stephanie Johnson MSN RN CPAN CAPA, sjohnson@aspan.org


Publications SPG

Click here for Publications SPG Members Only Page
Purpose: To encourage, support, and promote the writing and publishing process by perianesthesia nurses through resources, education, and networking.

Coordinator:  Denise Diaz MSN RN CPAN CAPA, dfdiazrn@gmail.com
Vice Coordinator:  TBD
Board of Directors:  Linda Allyn BSN RN CPAN CAPA, lallyn@aspan.org


Resources for SPG Leaders: